Sunday, March 6, 2011

The new series - what title do you want?

I am over the moon to be able to say HarperCollins has signed me up for a second trilogy, which will be published in April 2012, October 2012 and April 2013 ... so still 12 months to the first book being on the shelves but then not long to wait between them!
Now, despite being asked, this trilogy will NOT be featuring Martil, Karia and Merren.
I do have a second trilogy planned for them, taking place about 10 years after the events of Radiant Child but I'm not quite ready to write that one yet.
I sincerely hope I do have the opportunity, however!
Anyway, to the new series:
It is set in the same world, although on a completely different continent. However, there is the same rules of magic and the same theology - and one common thread with The Dragon Sword Histories.
It features descendants of the Elfarans, who truly believe they are the elves of legend and saga - and what that mistaken belief means for the humans living around them.
It features Sendatsu, an elf (Elfaran) banished from his kind because he cannot do magic, and exiled to a brutal human world, where he discovers his knowledge and skills make him a wild card in a people's battle for freedom.
It is also the story of Huw, a bard, whose hopes of a better world and courage to stand up for his beliefs - courage that came with a bitter price - could change history.
And the story of Rhiannon, a dancer who dreams of performing for the elves but whose ability to use magic will destroy what everyone believes to be true about elves, humans and their places in the world ...
At the heart of the story is a dilemma that we all face; the decision we must make at some point in our lives where we can either follow our parents' beliefs, and the path they want us to take - or we we try and find our own way ...
There is a fair bit of humour in here, as well as action.
Book one is essentially written, and will be ready to hand to HC by the end of March 2010.
One thing I am still working on, however, is the titles for the series.
I originally planned to call it Empire Of Bones - however, that has been taken.
At the moment I have a few ideas, of which my current favourites are as follows:
1) The first set of titles is loosely inspired by the Mabinogion, Welsh fairy tales or legends contained in several ancient books. Foremost among these are the Red Book of Hergest and the White Book of Rhydderch. Adapting these, we get a trilogy called:
The Black Book Of Elves
The White Book Of Forland
The Red Book Of Vales

However, explaining these titles may take too much time ...!

2) As much of the books are set in Vales, among the Velsh, with a recurring theme of the impact our parents have on us, I was drawn to the Dylan Thomas poem Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night, which is arguably written for his father and certainly about his father dying.
From it comes these three titles:

The Grieving Sun
The Cursed Tears
The Raging Night

What do you think? What appeals to you? I'd love to hear!


  1. I like the second set of three. They sound a lot better!! Can't wait to read them :D

  2. I really like the second set. They're moving and feel more in tune with the first series.

  3. G'day Duncan

    First off congrats on getting signed on to write more books. can't wait to read them

    i'd have to say the second lot of names sound the best...


  4. I agree - the second set has a much stronger emotional grab. Congratulations on selling the new series, and on achieving the first..

  5. Another thought: you could use the first set as subtitles.

  6. Hi Duncan,
    Yes, Definitely congratulations as well!! I couldn't put your first trilogy down!! Can't wait till the next one in April. I like the second set of titles too =D